Q: What Is The Definition Of A Well Person?

M

member 2106

A: Someone who hasn’t been examined yet.

An old joke encountered in Bill Bryson’s latest book which reminded me of Ray Peat’s comment about not going to see a doctor in case they gave him a diagnosis.

Sometimes it’s better not to know.

Last edited by a moderator:

Dobbler

Personally i wouldnt benefit from any diagnosis because i wouldn't change anything or take any drug they prescribe me. Even with cancer or some inflammatory bowel disease i wouldn't take anything or undergo any treatment because we know at this point all of those diseases are just a result of lacking energy metabolism and stress. Getting a diagnosis just boosts stress hormones even more. Also for mental problems the first line treatment is always a drug or 2, and you often have to take the drug for month to get to meet a therapist. I have no experience of therapy so i can't say for sure, but if some shrink tells you that you have a ton of problems it could be counterproductive, if those problems are merely a result of stress and bad environment.

But i think bloodtests can be a good thing so you know a little bit where the problem might be.

Personally i wouldnt benefit from any diagnosis because i wouldn't change anything or take any drug they prescribe me. Even with cancer or some inflammatory bowel disease i wouldn't take anything or undergo any treatment because we know at this point all of those diseases are just a result of lacking energy metabolism and stress. Getting a diagnosis just boosts stress hormones even more. Also for mental problems the first line treatment is always a drug or 2, and you often have to take the drug for month to get to meet a therapist. I have no experience of therapy so i can't say for sure, but if some shrink tells you that you have a ton of problems it could be counterproductive, if those problems are merely a result of stress and bad environment.