Best Way To Read/study When Learning At University

superhuman

Hello guys

I know food plays a major part in terms of getting your mind ready to study, focus and absorb information.

But what are the best study tecniques to use. I know just reading line to line from page to page is not the best one.
What are the best alternatives out there? ive heard about photoreading and all that but is there anything else and what have you guys used with success?

Im studying IT and informationsystems

Vinero

I dont know about study techniques, but several hundred miligrams of vitamin b1 give me a good boost to focus on my studies.

marcar72

Two things that I remember off of the top of my head in regards to study techniques. First one is that studying close to bedtime is supposed to help memory retention of the learned material. Second one was that studying to classical music (Mozart, Beethoven, etc.) is supposed to help one learn easier and retain more of the learned material. :2cents

tara

It probably varies a lot from person to person, but a couple of things I've found helpful at different times:

When reading, get really physically comfortable. For me, that sometimes meant reading in a hot bath. Definitely avoid hunger, cold, sleep-deprivation etc. Take regular short breaks to move, stretch etc.

Process the information you want to understand and retain actively, preferably in communication with someone else. Eg, find someone willing to listen while you tell them what you are learning. Maybe take turns with a fellow student, to increase the mutual benefits. Discuss. Set someone up to test you on the information (again, possibly fellow student taking turns, or someone who is interested in the topic). Start a small study group. I organised a one-off study group meeting before a couple of major exams. While I was doing it it didn't seem time-efficient, but I could tell afterwards that it helped a lot.