Cold Feet And Hands, And Raising Metabolism?

max219

Hi everyone, I am relatively new to a Peat inspired diet. I was previously "primal" for about three years, slightly low carb for the first year of that, and "CW healthy" for 6 months before that (but under-eating and dropping to 115 pounds at 5'5, I'm a male). I was a long distance runner for 7 years but stopped in May.

Anyway, I have been eating Peat strictly for about 2 months ago. My main goals are to improve my hormones and metabolism. I feel great eating this way (lots of energy and great digestion), however since the weather is cooling my feet are freezing all night, and sometimes my hands are frozen during the day. Is this showing that my metabolism low, or could it just be the change in weather? I am eating around 3000 calories daily, lower in fat (30-40 grams), but plenty of sugar and carbohydrate. I also eat nourishing shellfish a few times a week.

I also would like to ask about supplements, particularly raw thyroid and and progest-e. I feel I have higher estrogen levels (higher toned voice, retain fat in breast area despite being athletic and a lower (~15%) body fat). I also sometimes think I am hypothyroid from being a competitive long distance runner for 7 years, the 6 months of severe undereating a few years ago, and mostly under eating comparative to my activity level in recent years. I don't run anymore but I do weight train.

Sorry if that was long-winded and if I posted it in the wrong forum.

jb4566

max219 said:
Is this showing that my metabolism low, or could it just be the change in weather?

Both, weather has a huge affect on hormones.

max219 said: