Income idea for anyone who's lost or may lose their job

OccamzRazer

Hi all! This forum has really helped me with health stuff, & this may be the best way I'm able to give back to all you awesome folks here!

Here's an idea for anyone who's lost their job, or thinks they may lose it in the future. (I mentioned this in the log Blossom started but figured it might deserve a thread of its own.)

Anyways, the idea is freelance writing.

YOU NEED TO ENJOY WRITING FOR THIS TO WORK. You also need to be naturally good at it. For whatever reason, all good writers are intelligent...but not all intelligent people are good writers.

How it works

I've been a freelance writer/copywriter for 2 years now. I probably quit my 'real' job too early, but within the last 6 months my writing career has built some momentum and things are good.

At any given time I have 5-10 writing clients. Almost all of them are health/wellness/fitness companies. These clients give me regular assignments, or, in some cases, I develop content plans for them and then also write the content.

This work requires a love for writing, research, and more research. Researching a topic and then distilling info down into a helpful guide is almost like solving a puzzle.

These days most of my work is billed by the word @10-20 cents/word. I can write 2,000-3,000 words per day, so this is a pretty good rate, particularly if you're working 5+ days/week. Expenses are pretty low - just a computer, Grammarly, Copyscape, and maybe an SEO program - so net income is a large percentage of gross income. At a certain point starting an LLC and writing off stuff thru it is a good idea.

How to get started