S. Boulardii As A Way To "clean" Digestive Tract

managing

On Autism360 there is a lot of discussion of how to clear virulent microorganisms from the intestines. One strategy focuses on S. boulardii, a non-colonizing yeast. It is widely available in developing countries to treat travelers diarrhea. It is particularly effective at this and I have some experience with it.

A360 describes using it for 60 days in order to essentially wipe out everything and start over. I am on day 17 of this. It has gone well and predictably. Die-off symptoms in abundance in the first ~ 10 days, steadily becoming minimal, but not entirely gone.

Their recommendation is to follow the 60 day boulardii regimen with 10-20 days of L. rhamnosus strain gg. GG seems to be simply the bacterial equivalent of boulardii. IOW, something that completely dominates and doesn't allow growth of any other microorganisms. I suppose it converts you to bacterial processes completely before allowing general recolonization.

So, my first question is, what are your thoughts on this overall.

Second, would you do the gg?

When it comes to recolonization, any probiotics to promote healthy colonization?

Any supplements to support intestinal immune system? I currently take lactoferrin and colostrum between meals and this seems to help tremendously with my original symptoms which were moodiness and hot flashes between meals. I'm a man, which doesn't mean it isn't hormonal, but hormone panels suggested not hormonal per se. I eventually found that the lactoferrin and colostrum pretty much eliminated the symptoms.

This all seemed to get worse when I went from low carb to RP style fruit, sugar, etc. It definitely seems the sugar was feeding something virulent in the intestines. BTW, i feel great on the boulardii routine.

I took booulardii for months. I got dependent on it. Then started carrot salad which is more mild and does the job.

OP
managing

managing