Trouble With Magnesium Glycinate

Logan-

Hi. I bought KAL Magnesium Glycinate some months ago, and bought a lot of it. This is the product: https://www.amazon.com/KAL-Magnesium-Glycinate-Chelated-Servings/dp/B00013YZ1Q

I have been using it for a few months; but lately I started to experiment with it by taking it sublingually when I am having a migraine attack. The problem is, every time I take it sublingually, my tongue and especially my throat hurts for a day. This is weird. And it has a very bad taste.

I have taken another magnesium supplements sublingually before, and never experienced this pain, or the bad taste. Looked at the excipient list, these are: Cellulose, stearic acid, silica, and magnesium stearate.

Could it be the silica? I have taken another supplements with silica before, but did not experience this with them. Maybe the amount of silica is higher in this product?

I checked labdoor.com, it says that this product has concerning levels of arsenic in it. Kal Magnesium Glycinate Review

Does anyone have any idea? I have 3 bottles left, and I wouldn't want to throw these away, unless they are dangerous.

Do you think the pain in my tongue and my throat is a sign that it causes inflammation all the way through my digestive system? My gut is already damaged, and I wouldn't want to mess things up even more.

It does seem to cause irritation in the gastrointestinal tract anyway. So perhaps it does so the way you’re taking it and I would stop.

Dave Clark

I recently was getting some bio-feedback tests for some of my supplements. Collagen, which has glycine in it, did fine for me, but when tested for glycine powder I tested weak. I use magnesium glycinate, and it makes me wonder if I should stick to other forms until I get it checked. If I recall from posts on this forum, there seems to be a certain percentage of people who don't do well with glycine in any supplement form. Maybe Logan should try another form and see if his symptoms disappear.

Wilfrid