Caffeine Inhibits Collagen Sysnthesis

• Thread starter Deleted member 5487
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 5487

Caffeine reduces collagen synthesis in human cultured skin fibroblasts. HA did not have any significant protective effect on this process. This is the first study to our knowledge that reports caffeine-induced inhibition of collagen synthesis in human skin fibroblasts.

Does anyone have a response to this or can debuke? Seems like it ages you. But I am no expert at understanding scientific articles.

tomisonbottom

No need to debunk; that's a good thing.

Like most subjects, the mainstream and advertisers have it backwards. They like to say collagen is a good thing; but actually it increases with age, so inhibition is a great thing, imo.

Gelatin, stress, longevity

"Inflammation produces fibrosis, because stress, hypoxia, and inadequate supply of glucose stimulate the fibroblasts to produce increased amounts of collagen"

OP
D

Deleted member 5487

Like most subjects, the mainstream and advertisers have it backwards. They like to say collagen is a good thing; but actually it increases with age, so inhibition is a great thing, imo.

"Inflammation produces fibrosis, because stress, hypoxia, and inadequate supply of glucose stimulate the fibroblasts to produce increased amounts of collagen"
Great answer thanks.

Peater Piper

Whole body collagen may increase with age, but specifically pertaining to skin collagen, it seems to decline with age. Skin collagen has a faster turnover rate than elsewhere in the body.

Decreased Collagen Production in Chronologically Aged Skin : Roles of Age-Dependent Alteration in Fibroblast Function and Defective Mechanical Stimulation

Ulysses