Trying To Recover The Emotion Of Wonder

Ben7

Hi. I'm a 32 year old male interested in health and bodybuilding. I have most of my life been dreamy in character. For several years as an early adult I had these beautiful feelings of wonder at the universe, stronger than what I had as a child. To give some examples of the broad feeling: when outside there was always a new mystery just out of site past a group of trees; when indoors I would feel cosy as I studied or relaxed; looking afield at the universe in my mind there was a hopeful aspiration and a feeling of deepness and of foreverness.

These have been my happiest feelings and I began losing them 2 years ago. I now feel some what like a boring adult. Although I don't know everything about the world and the universe I feel like I have wrapped my head around it making it boring.

I have experimented with raising and lowering through natural means (food, red light, cold water, music), various hormones. Dopamine, serotonin (probably lower now), testosterone and oxytocin seem to do to me what they do to others. Oxcytocin was the closest to the wonder (with a feeling of deepness) emotion, but I really haven't been able to recover the feelings.

It might be because I eat steak and veggies these days instead of fish and veggies. I could try eating fish but steak is good for my energy and bodybuilding. My diet is not very Peaty but I have no problem with most foods. I decided to ask on this forum because there are some people here with knowledge of how hormones effect mood, behaviour, etc. Is there a hormone linked to the emotion of wonder?

smith

This is one of those great questions that most people will only care to answer with "try psychedelics"
Stupid question but, you masturbate? Have you recently tried to learn a lot of things or memorize information?

Last edited:

benaoao