High Dose Taurine To Reverse Tinnitus

Ficini

I have just read a study that significantly attenuated tinnitus in rats using high doses of taurine.
The Effect of Supplemental Dietary Taurine on Tinnitus and Auditory Discrimination in an Animal Model

The high dose was 294 mg/kg/day which would mean 25 grams daily for me!!!
Anyone experienced dose this high?

In the study they exposed the animals to a loud sound to induce tinnitus. This happened to me. I'm a rock musician, constantly exposed to a loud sound. 6 years ago I developed tinnitus, when I was a vegan, so probably deficient in taurine, among many other nutrients. My tinnitus is a hiss sound generated by the brain, because I can't hear anything above 8000 hz. It is the way the brain tries to make up for the lost sound.

KurtisL

I've used roughly 30g a day before, although it was for only one day. For me its noticeable benefits stop after 5g or so, however im not treating something as measurable as tinnitus..

25g wont kill you but its a high dose if taken routinely your beta-alanine levels will be depleted if not supplemented alongside taurine as they compete for absorption AFAIK, hopefully somebody more versed in physiology than I could chime in on other potential side effects

IIRC people have reported bad GI distress from relatively low doses so don't rush to 25g whatever you do :)

OP
Ficini

Ficini

I've used roughly 30g a day before, although it was for only one day. For me its noticeable benefits stop after 5g or so, however im not treating something as measurable as tinnitus..

25g wont kill you but its a high dose if taken routinely your beta-alanine levels will be depleted if not supplemented alongside taurine as they compete for absorption AFAIK, hopefully somebody more versed in physiology than I could chime in on other potential side effects

IIRC people have reported bad GI distress from relatively low doses so don't rush to 25g whatever you do :)
Thank you!