Water pipe for house = Is PPR better or any?

Blossom

Forum Supporter
@HealthisWealth, I’m asking my husband because I don’t know for sure but I believe it’s PEX. We renovated our current house in 2017 and replaced some of the pipes at that time. I’m certain there’s a copper pipe going into the water heater though.
I’ve been drinking RO water since early 2022 and using a shower head filter since 2016.

wzuo

I think use most popular technology and invest in RO filter and after it use stainless steel or copper.

Jackson Chung

PEX piping is low density polyethylene. Probably safe as ethylene is a simple molecule. I remember Ray saying that’s the only safe plastic. PVC is used for drain pipes. I haven’t heard of poly propylene used in piping. But I could be wrong. I’d use 316 stainless steel if I could but that’s expensive.

GTW

PEX piping is low density polyethylene. Probably safe as ethylene is a simple molecule. I remember Ray saying that’s the only safe plastic. PVC is used for drain pipes. I haven’t heard of poly propylene used in piping. But I could be wrong. I’d use 316 stainless steel if I could but that’s expensive.
PEX is cross linked PE. PE in any form may have low levels polymerization catalyst residues. Possibly also extrusion plasticizer residues although usually waxes not toxic.
Typically black PE works well for all cold water lines. Cross linking makes PE more heat resistant.

wzuo

PP-R is used for water pipes in EU, along with PEX, both have its pros and cons. PP-R is connected by melting two items at the same time and connecting them while they are hot, PEX is usually connected with connector having rubber sealing oring.

Raw PE is also used for water but for more bulky usages like water supply lines buried in ground.

GTW